Updates about ongoing redistricting litigation in the Lone Star State and coverage of election law more generally. This website's goal is to try to make sure the redistricting process and litigation over voting law is as transparent and accessible as possible to the public. Hopefully, it will be of some use to a broad range of interested parties, both lawyers and non-lawyers. Have questions, comments, suggestions, additional content, or a redistricting joke (or two)? Feel free to contact me: Michael Li, michael.li@mlilaw.com, 202.681.0641.
Posts I Like

The Texas Senate may be further along on term limits, having approved sending a proposed constitutional amendment to voters, but there’s also been action in the Texas House.

While the Senate’s SJR 13 doesn’t have a direct companion on the House side, State Rep. Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio) and State Rep. Patricia Harless (R-Spring) have introduced HJR 42, which would establish a 12-year limit for both statewide officeholders and (unlike SJR 13) for members of the Texas Legislature.

As with SJR 13, HJR 42 would start the 12-year clock after the 2014 election.

HJR 42 has been assigned to the state affairs committee, where it was left as pending business after a short hearing on February 27.

Video from the hearing can be found here (starting at minute 38:38).